Call for Scholarship and Research Grant Applications, Award Nominations

The Ohio Nurses Foundation – ONA’s charitable arm – awards thousands of dollars annually to deserving nursing students and researchers. Applications for 2018 award money are due January 16th for the following categories:

        • Hague Memorial Scholarship: For a graduate nursing student who is an aspiring nurse leader.
        • Minority Scholarship: For students who are pursuing their first nursing degree that leads to RN licensure; live in the state of Ohio and are of a minority race.
        • Hayward Memorial Scholarship: For RNs preparing to teach nursing.
        • Traditional Nursing Student Scholarship: For students who do not have breaks longer than 2 years in their formal education (from high school to college) and have not yet obtained a degree.
        • RNs Majoring in Nursing: For students that are already RNs who want to advance the profession of nursing in Ohio.
        • Students Returning to School for Nursing Scholarship: For students who have been out of school more than 2 years and are not an RN.
        • Summit & Portage District Scholarship: For sophomore, junior, or senior student or returning R.N. working toward an advanced nursing degree at Hiram College, Kent State University, or The University of Akron.
        • Mary Runyan Scholarship: For students at Kent State-Ashtabula Campus.  A scholarship award of $250 is presented to two  graduating seniors per year.  The scholarship recipients are chosen by the nursing faculty of the school.  This award is made possible by the nurses of Ashtabula County, Ohio Nurses Foundation, and the Ohio Nurses Association. “
      • Research Grants: For the support of sound research projects conducted by registered nurses in Ohio. Up to 3 $2,000 grants are awarded per year.


Additionally, the Foundation honors several individuals with Nurses Choice Awards and the Gingy Harshey-Meade Excellence in Leadership Award. Nominations for the following categories are due March 2nd:

Nurses Choice Awards

The Nurses Choice Awards are for those non-nurses who support and/or advocate for the betterment of the profession.  The awards were created to celebrate the many friends of nursing, who are recognized at the annual Nurses Choice Awards and Scholarship Luncheon.

The Nurses Choice Awards are broken down into 3 categories:

  • Nurses Choice – Individual, recognizing an individual who is not a nurse or legislator who has made a contribution to nursing;
  • Nurses Choice – Organization, recognizing an organization that shows they value nurses; and
  • Nurses Choice – Media, recognizing a media campaign portraying nursing in a positive light.

Please use this award nomination process.

Gingy Harshey-Meade Excellence in Leadership Award

Named after the chief executive officer of the Ohio Nurses Association who began the Foundation, The Gingy Harshey-Meade Excellence in Leadership Award is presented in recognition of sustained exemplary leadership and commitment to the nursing profession, and participation in and contributions to the purposes of the Ohio Nurses Association.

Please use this award nomination process.


Additional information can be found at